House of Cotton
7 Derdowskiego Street
The Gdynia House of Cotton was designed by the architect Wacław Tomaszewski. It is one of the modernist public buildings which give the city a unique character. Before the war, the Cotton Arbitration Chamber was located there.
The edifice in 7 Derdowskiego Street was put into use in 1938. During the war, a hospital was located in the building. After the war damages which affected its 75 per cent, it was reopened on 6th June 1946. Thanks to the Cotton Arbitration Chamber which it accommodated, it was associated with trading companies and production plants of the Polish textile industry.
The building is characterised by a free plan and a frame construction. In spite of its monumental character, thanks to the simplicity and spatially defined forms, it reflects a harmonious and functional attitude to designing. The form dynamization was achieved thanks to the division of the building’s mass.
The House of Cotton was a six-storey building covered with a flat roof. The building’s front windows are distributed regularly – between them, there are lesenes which protrude slightly from the elevation’s face. The sequence is rhythmical and the architectural detail which separates them gives it a vertical character.
The building has a bright finishing with smooth plaster. The face of the plaster is divided with horizontal and vertical grooving which is supposed to imitate stone covering. The elevation’s sparing decorativeness allowed to expose the glass elements. On the level of the fourth storey, there is the ornamental inscription DOM BAWEŁNY (PL: House of Cotton).
Light is important for its reception. There is a lot of it in the interior, thanks to the use of many glass elements.
In 2020, Gdynia Cotton Association is celebrating its 85th anniversary.